My question involves criminal law for the states of: Michigan + South Carolina
Well here goes...
I'm 19 years old and I still live with my mother and sisters.
Memorial Day weekend 2012 I received an MIP. I went to my initial court date around the end of June. Was required to PBT & Oral Drug test once a week and ETG & PTB every Sunday until my sentencing for my bond. No violations.
Went to my sentencing hearing on July 27th and received 1 year of reporting probation. Which means PBT & Oral Drug test once a week and ETG & PTB every Sunday. I have paid all court costs, my attorney fees and required test fees thus far (more to come). No violations. Although, I have yet to complete my community service.
When my probation is completed, it will be wiped from my record, but that means I still have 11 months to go.
My mother and sisters are about to move to South Carolina.
I have yet to be assigned a probation officer. So I know I have to contact their office. Although, the MIP laws are much more lenient in South Carolina than in Michigan. (If you get a Minor in Possession ticket, it's basically a 100-200$ fine and you have to take an alcohol class.)
I'm curious, if they allow me to move will I get credit for time served or will I have to continue on this irritating and costly journey??