Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Suing an Auto Repair Shop for Negligent Repairs

My question involves a consumer law issue in the State of: Oregon

Greetings,

Do I have a valid claim to take an auto repair shop to small claims court for negligent repairs?

The story is as follows:

I purchased a car in October of 2011. The day after purchase, the check engine light came on. Because I'm a full-time student, with no source of income except financial aid, I opted not to take the car to get checked out. A few days later, I took the car to a place that does oil changes. While they were looking under my car, they noticed that my transmission was leaking fluid in several places. They refused to change the oil due to some sort of liability concern over the leaking transmission.

With two issues already on a car I just purchased, I decided I needed to take it to a shop. I read some Google reviews and picked out the local place now in question. I called the shop to schedule a time to take my car in, and told them that I had a check engine light on and a leaking transmission. The morning of the day of my appointment to bring the car in, the transmission started slipping really bad, which I later learned was due to a serious shortage of transmission fluid. I called my roommate, because he knows more about cars than I do. He said it was dangerous to drive the car while it was slipping like that, because the transmission may run out of fluid entirely. He advised me not to drive it anymore, and to have it towed in to the shop. He reiterated the danger of running it out of fluid by driving it to the shop, or anywhere else.