Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Can You Expunge a Drug Felony

My question involves criminal records for the state of: California

I was released from prison in June of 2008 for marijuana cultivation. Since then I have been attending school and now I am one year away from graduation. I recently applied for a part time job at home depot and they told me I would be hired after a background check and drug test. I passed the drug test but was turned down because of the background check. I was pretty devastated because i do not know how i will ever get a job as a civil engineer with my background. I want to expunge my felony, but it seems this isn't possible because I've been to state prison. I've looked into a certificate of rehabilitation and a governor's pardon, but these options do not erase your record, which still leaves me open to employment discrimination. The conviction was my first ever and since then i have not gotten into any trouble, nor do i plan to. I am an honors student and will probably graduate cum laude. I'm worried about my future and would like any input on how i can fix this situation. Also, if i decide to go to law school would i be able to practice in California with a certificate of rehabilitation.

- - - Updated - - -

Well i guess im screwed forever. Seems like the only way to support yourself after youve been convicted of a crime is to commit more crimes.

Default Re: Can You Expunge a Drug Felony

I guess you read something along the lines of this, then?

Quote Quoting Section8
    View Post
    Well i guess im screwed forever. Seems like the only way to support yourself after youve been convicted of a crime is to commit more crimes.
    Not true at all!