My question involves landlord-tenant law in the State of: Washington
I had a rental unit in Washington state. During the move, there was some damage done. Estimates were done on it almost right away; however, I got a notice about a week after move out about the deposit being held until repairs were finished - just that, no itemized amounts. Apparently, unrelated damage was later found, so I received another note about this one saying that I'm not getting any of my deposit and will have to owe them. This note came over 2 weeks after move out and again, wasn't itemized. It finally mentioned a total for the original stuff and said that they would find out the cost for the other stuff and then tell me what I owed.
I've looked up the laws here and it says that I am supposed to be provided an itemized statement for why a deposit is being held within 14 days. It then says that if I don't receive an itemized statement within the 14 days, that I get my entire deposit back (double if it was intentional) and that they can't claim damages against me. Neither note that I received was itemized and only one was within the 14 days (the one that had no amounts whatsoever). So, my questions are:
1. Is itemized the keyword here, ie. does the fact that I didn't receive an itemized statement mean that they violated the statute or was the statement enough?
2. If the statement is enough, are they able to come back with new damages past the 14 days or can they only keep the deposit amount equal to the first damage that was mentioned within 14 days?