Default Already Have a Teaching License, but Can I Get Hired

My question involves criminal law for the state of: California

I am a young art teacher planning on moving to Los Angeles this summer. I got my California Teaching Certificate a few months ago, and was lucky enough to get a job a few days ago. However, a few weeks ago I was caught shoplifting and charged with a misdemeanor. It was a stupid mistake and I have an incredible amount of remorse and stress. My new employer wants me to come out to LA at the end of July to get fingerprinted before I can begin new teacher orientation. I am working on getting an attorney to help me with my case, but if I do end up with a criminal record how will that affect my employment? Most things I've found online are about getting licensed as a teacher, but I am already licensed and well on my way to being employed. This is my dream job that I have waited a year to get- I am terrified that I will lose it and destroy my future. Is there a chance that I could fly out there, get fingerprinted, and get sent back to PA with no job?

Default Re: Already Have a Teaching License, but Can I Get Hired

When you choose to be a criminal, you need to accept that there can be serious ramifications for your criminal acts. You have a college education - you should know this.

You can work with your lawyer to try to avoid a conviction.

Nobody here can promise you that your employer won't find out about a conviction. If you want to know what your employer's policy is, when it discovers that new hires have misdemeanor theft records, you need to ask them. For now, I suggest working with your lawyer to try to avoid the conviction such that it's less of an issue.