My question involves landlord-tenant law in the State of: California
Hi I live in California, I had rented a month to month apartment and two months before I moved out I gave the landlord a verbal notice. On the lease it says at lease 30 days of notice and does not say a written notice. When I told my landlord, he said "Oh Ok". He then sold the property to another estate company and the company is trying to charge me for an additional month of rent because I didn't give them a notice ($750 in total, $300 is the security deposit, which means I have to pay $450 more). My original landlord acknowledges my verbal moving out notice and has been calling the new management about this, but the new management refuses to refund me my security deposit. The apartment had no damages when I left and the person who came to do the check in fact said "it was the cleanest apartment I have ever seen." I just realized that the California Tenant Law asks people to give a written notice, but I had just moved to the state then and had no idea it was required. I know a written notice is to keep things clear, but I wonder if it will be enough to have all my deposit witheld plus extra in my case. I would love to hear some advices!