My question involves landlord-tenant law in the State of: Oregon
So on the 26th of April (the official, recorded date) my roommate and I moved out of our apartment. We were on a month to month rental agreement. I had paid half of the $675 deposit, plus a $300 pet deposit, and my roommate had paid the other half of the $675. After waiting for the 30 period, and receiving no word from anybody about my deposits or an itemized invoice, I called my roommate on the 26th. He wasn't home but got back to me the next day, telling me that he had a check from the rental agency for $719. I've been trying since then to get him to meet me and give me my portion of the refunded deposits, so far to no avail.
I want to know if the rental agency had an legal obligation to keep me in the loop as to what was going on, whether they broke the law by sending someone else my deposit, and who can be held responsible for me not having received my deposit, an invoice, or any type of communication within the 30 day window provided by Oregon law.