Post Terminated While on FMLA

My question involves labor and employment law for the state of: Florida.

I had been working at my job for almost 3 years now. I suffer from Bipolar disorder diagnosed since 1993 and have been on disability in the past before my employment with this company. In March of 2012, I suffered a manic episode triggered by a rumor one of my coworkers had started that I was fired. On a Thursday, I received calls and texts from other coworkers asking me what happened and if I had really gotten fired. The following Friday I went to their Ethics and Compliance Office and asked the director what I had learned. She informed me that in Florida and at this company there has to be a reason for termination and that they give the employee time to rectify the problem that may be present. She assured me that I still had my job and that if I had never been called in by management before there was no problem. I was a good performer and had perfect attendance. I was already in a manic state by this time and was not convinced of her answer. The following Sunday I was hospitalized for my bipolar disorder. My psychiatrist put me on FMLA for 10 weeks and notified my company by fax that following Monday. I was hospitalized twice from March 18-21 and then on April 2-9 for my illness. Since I was in a manic state and could not exercise correct judgement, I was calling up the employee who started the rumor and left angry messages.