Default I Was Rear Ended and Injured, How Long Should Settlement Take

Hello,

I have no background in law whatsoever. My story: I was rear ended 1.5 years ago, my car incurred 9k in damage, other car totalled and towed away from the scene both his airbags deployed. I have 3 heirniated discs, C3-4-5 with no spinal damage but I do have bulging of one of my discs unto my spine which is causing numbness in my left arm.

I have treated for this injury for 1 year, took Xrays and MRI and went to an orthopaedic surgeon for a diagnosis. He suggests surgery to correct the pain issures and numbness.

My current lawyer seems like they are taking forever to get this through to a finalized settlement. My treatment has been finalized, but I did not get an impairment rating from my surgeon because he says that will cost around $700 and my lawyer doesnt think it will benefit the case. As a subquestion to my original question, should I just eat the $700 out of my settlement for the chance that having the impairment rating will benefit my case? I am leaning towards yes.

My overall question, why is such a generic case like this, taking so long? I was rearended, suffered bodily injury and may need surgery. It has been 1.5 years and they havent even sent out the demand yet, is this normal?

Please advise, and remember; I'm a newb so if I say anything stupid just smack me.

Thank you

Default Re: I Was Rear Ended and Injured, How Long Should Settlement Take

Yea its a very long process as I've come to understand. I'm going on 17months now. I think lawyers don't look at your case for months at a time. Much of what was needed to advance my case was accomplished be me taking the appropriate actions when my lawyer could've gotten it handle in a matter of minutes.