My question involves landlord-tenant law in the State of: Alabama
My tenant signed a 15 month lease and after 1 month is breaking the lease because he is buying new home. We mitigated and found new tenant with a difference in rent of $1800.00 which he has paid. Our lease states if he breaks the lease he loses the security deposit. We also have a re-listing fee of $1000.00. He hired an attorney who informed us we must give his security deposit back within 35 days of move out less any home damages. He also informed us that any damages we feel are recoverable under the Alabama Landlord Tenant Act should be submitted for review. We feel we are due the security deposit and the re-listing fee. Any help would be very appreciated!!