My question involves criminal law for the state of: Texas
In Feb 2004, I was 19, I plead guilty to theft (fraudulent return) less than $100, a class C misdemeanor. It was my first offense and received deferred adjudication, 6 months probation and a $500 fine. I haven't been in any trouble since. They told me it would be expunged, but as far as I can tell it's still on my record. How can I get this expunged, or sealed or something? I would like to get a real estate license in Texas but I don't want to go through the classes and in the end not be able to get certified because of this stupid mistake. I read somewhere that the state of Texas won't certify anyone who has a criminal background that shows dishonesty, such as theft etc. Also how much will it cost, if anything? Thanks in advance for your help!