Default Serious Consequences After False Arrest for Shoplifting

My question involves criminal law for the state of: New York

Background:
    Let me start with a short introduction because it is important in my case: I am a foreigner, but I studied in the US a lot, I have PhD in criminal law in one of the European countries and LLM degree that I got in a NY Law School. I am teaching in a University + working for an international corporation, holding a leading position.

The Incident Details:

My fiancé and I traveled to NY for a vacation around the Christmas time. A day before the New Year my fiancé and I were meant to travel to Antigua for sailing school. Since we had little time left for New Year shopping and gifts, we decided to split: he went to Bloomingdales to buy for me a gift, and I went to Macy’s. I had a list of items to buy for him: a shirt, a tie, a belt, a pair of jeans, a pair of gloves, and cuff-links. Also, I needed to get for myself a set of jewelry that we had chosen for me a day or two ago when shopping at Macy’s + a pair of purple shoes for myself for the dress that I had with me.