Default How to Expunge First Offense Petty Theft Misdemeanor

My question involves criminal records for the state of: Florida

How can I go about in my arraignment in court in two weeks to help have my case expunged in the future? The arrest was for petty theft, first offense misdemeanor, just turned 18, orange county state of florida. I will not have a lawyer as I am a dependent student, and my parents have not found out. I will go to court by myself.

I hope you can realize that this is extremely important to me. I am in hopes of becoming a doctor in the future, and I know for a fact that after you are offered admission to medical school, the official licensing(MD) school must do an official, and pretty thorough background check on you. This misdemeanor will definitely haunt me, so I am trying to do whatever it takes to have this case dismissed and/or expunged. If I get the pretrial diversion program(frequent for first offenders petty theft), can it be expunged once I complete it, or only sealed? What other consequences can I expect to face? I will NOT plead guilty.

Default Re: How to Expunge First Offense Petty Theft Misdemeaner(35$)

Please keep it all in the same thread. Expunction is putting the cart before the horse at this point. What you want to do is avoid the conviction to start with. Since you're guilty as hell diversion is your best option if you can get it. If you are convicted you WILL not be eligible for expunction.

It's gonna sting but speak to your parents and hire a good lawyer especially considering you plan to enter the medical field. Many times expunged records still pop up especially if it's military,law enforcement,medical boards,school and many other things. With a good lawyer they might take pity on you given your age and that it's a 1st offense. It's a long shot but it's worth giving it a try. If you plead not guilty see if it's possible to get a public defender.