Default Possession of Marijuana, First Offense in Michigan

My question involves criminal law for the state of: Michigan

I was recently charged with posession of a controlled substance. I had at the most 1gram of marijuana on me. Im 18 and going to college. This is my 1st offense of anything, before this my record was squeaky clean. I have court in 2 weeks and I'm not really sure what to expect. Will I get probation? Whats the most that I will have to pay in fines? Will I have to take a drug test on my court date? Can this charge eventually be cleared of my record since it is my first time?

Like I said im not really sure what to expect, so any info that anyone can share with me would be very helpful. Thanks!

Default Re: Possession of Marijuana, First Offense in Michigan

I doubt on the day of court if a drug test will be given probation is possible but if I had to guess it sounds like a fine is the most likely outcome,idk how much. A lawyer is the best person to ask. Plead not guilty and ask about getting a 7411,it's a type of diversion to avoid a conviction . I think Mi in general lets you expunge misdemeanor convictions,discuss this with a lawyer.

Thank you so much!

Would it be alot worse if I pled guilty to the charge? Im not sure if I'll be able to pay for a lawyer

It might be possible to get a legal aide,either way plead not guilty and ask about any diversion programs (i think in MI 1st time drug offenders especially if it's a small amount are granted 7411 in many cases. It's foolish to just plead guilty .

one more question, will I get notices in the mail before my court date? If so when? It is in 2 weeks