Default Auto with Disabled Placard Towed for Not Parking in Visitors Parking Slot

My question involves an auto with a disabled placard being towed for not being parked in a visitors slot at an apartment complex in Roseville, CA. Here are the facts: I am a retired disabled veteran. I live in an apartment complex that is a gated community and the residents are issued parking decals to display on their autos. There are open (unmarked) parking slots, some disabled slots and specially marked visitors parking slots throughout the premises. Each resident also has a detached garage.

On the day in question, my regular auto was in the shop for repairs and I was driving a "loaner" auto from the dealership. For obvious reasons, the "loaner" auto did not have an apartment parking decal affixed but I did have a disabled placard visibily displayed in the windshield, hanging from the mirror. The apartment management has a rule that says if you do not have a resident decal, you must park in a designated, specially marked visitors slot. I did not do this because I believed the disabled placard authorized me to park in a non-visitors slot. Moreover the disabled parking slot in front of my apartment where I normally park, was blocked by a contractors truck which, incidentally did not have a disabled placard on display. The contractor truck actually was parked perpendicular across four parking slots, two of which were for disabled individuals, thereby effectively eliminating the availability of two disabled slots. I chose to not park in my garage because of my disability and did not want to have to walk very far because I had groceries and other things to carry.