My question involves court procedures for the state of: Michigan
Hi: I have a friend that has been convicted of the Federal offense of having child porn on his computer. He has been sentenced to 11 years in the federal prison system. He has served 1 1/2 years of that at this time. He also has a state charge of child molestation pending. The question is how long can they wait to bring formal charges, and is there any state statute of limitations for such a crime in Michigan? Or can they wait out the 11 years and then charge him and start over?
Thanks to all of you that answer in advance.