Hybrid View

Default Right Turn on Red Signal Ticket

My question involves a traffic ticket from the state of California.
    I made a right turn on a "Yellow as it turned Red" light without stopping. I understand that I needed to stop before making the turn if its Red but I know it takes a few seconds for other cars to actually reach my end of the intersection when there light turns Green so I didnt stop, I slowed looked and made the turn. It wasnt a camera but a cop who saw me. I got a 21453A violation which says I ran a red light. I have been driving for 2 years in California and this is my first ticket and I am an international student. I leave the country in 2 months. I have a $500 ticket now. I extended my court date hoping the cop wont show up on that date. What are the chances I have?? Since its my first ticket, Im an international student with a california driving licensce and I leave the country soon and $500 can last me 3 months living expenses in my home country. What could I do??? Thanks

Default Re: Right Turn on Red Signal Ticket

If you plan on returning to the USA then you should show up on your court date or pay the fine....

You're not a killer but the cop will testify that you went through a red light w/o stopping.

Looking at your posting, your only viable defense is that the light is placed w/o a traffic survey supporting its erection (or its not posted properly, which I never seen with a light) .. but most are erected per the law.

These type of tickets are the hardest to win.

Default Re: Right Turn on Red Signal Ticket

Quote Quoting nuwanh
    View Post
    My question involves a traffic ticket from the state of California.