Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Possession of MDMA, First Offense

My question involves criminal law for the state of: North Carolina

Over halloween weekend I was at a music festival and I was given a ticket for possession of MDMA. The ticket reads

"Possession with intent to use to wit: Two clear plastic baggies of MDMA"
    I have no prior record and live out of state. My court date is in early December and I'm wondering what to expect at court. I am currently a college student, one with a 3.9 GPA, although from my ticket you would probably guess otherwise. Any type of insight would be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: Possession of MDMA, First Offense

Smart people do dumb things all the itime.

You need a lawyer. Possession of MDMA is a felony. There are very serious and lifetime implications if you are convicted of this.
    How to conduct yourself in court is not something you can go yourself based on the advice on a web forum. Further, this won't be your last court date. If you have the means to get an attorney, do so now. If you are indigent, go to the arraignment, when called plead NOT GUILTY and ask for a public defender. You may wish to talk to the court now and get the affidavit of indigentcy.

Quote Quoting flyingron
    View Post
    Smart people do dumb things all the itime.

You need a lawyer. Possession of MDMA is a felony. There are very serious and lifetime implications if you are convicted of this.
    How to conduct yourself in court is not something you can go yourself based on the advice on a web forum. Further, this won't be your last court date. If you have the means to get an attorney, do so now. If you are indigent, go to the arraignment, when called plead NOT GUILTY and ask for a public defender. You may wish to talk to the court now and get the affidavit of indigentcy.