Question School Zone Speeding Ticket, but School Zone Lights Weren't Flashing

My question involves a traffic ticket from the state of: Washington. Im a college student in the city of Bellingham and about 2 weeks ago, while i was driving my friend back over to his apartment at 12:45pm, I was pulled over by an officer. I was right next to the local high school.
    The speed limit sign says 25 but there is also a couple signs that say "Speed Limit 20 MPH, when lights are flashing" this reminds me of the "When children are present law" which is very grey. His officer report says that i was going a steady speed of 30 MPH in a 20 MPH zone. The only problem with that is the lights dont flash at that time of the day. High schooler's are not entering or exiting the building at that time. I have gone there on a more recent day at the same time to see if the sign was indeed flashing. It was not.
    How do i get the proper evidence to support my claim? who should i be making phone calls to or having statements notorized with. I plan to subpeona the officer and question him accordingly but im afraid that my lack of legal experience could be my downfall in the case. I really need some advice, I plan on getting a consultation from a lawyer within the next week but i don't have the money to have him appear in court for me. My ticket was for 210.00. Any advice or help with my situation would be appreciated.

Also I have never gotten a ticket for anything other than parking infractions in the past, and would really like to be able to throw this case out or have the ticket lowered to a more acceptable amount.

Default Re: Collegelegal Procedure Help (School Zone Not in Effect when Lights Are Not Flashi

Are you saying that you were only speeding 5 miles over the speed limit rather than 10, I am not sure I understand your defense.

Other than that, bring up the fact that the lights weren't flashing at quarter of one in the morning.