My question involves vehicle registration or title in the state of: California
I have a car that's over 4 years old. The car, as is, will not pass smog but the buyer says they can fix it and pass smog on his own. California law states that I have to have a smog certification less than 90 days old before I can transfer the title. What's the best way to protect myself in case the buyer can't fix the smog issues and wants his money back?