My question involves education law in the State of: Arizona
I'm the parent of a student who attends a charter school in Arizona. The school sent home a letter stating that to get a confiscated cell phone back I will be charge a fee of $20. I think this is wrong, and seems like theft of my property as I am the owner of the phone not my child.
They refuse to return the phone with out the $20 dollar fee, should I file small claims/unlawful detainer or what?
The school does not have a policy against having a phone, only against using it. They say the phone can't be used on school property ever, this apparently includes after school, which is when the phone was taken, when my son was checking to see if I had left to pick him up or his mother so he would know which car to look out for.