Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Workplace Security Video and Audio Recording Laws

My question involves labor and employment law for the state of: Florida

I am a security officer employed by a security company who has a contract with a particular country club. I work in a gate house where the have numerous cameras but recently was advised by a John Doe for my best interest be careful what I say or do inside the gatehouse since the (Hoa) Home Owners Associaion listens in and records audio and video via the cameras from their home. So I am even afraid to talk to my wife on the phone since that is our prvate conversation. There are no signs posted of audio recording taking place; nor were "we" the officers advised by the association that we are being audio recorded inside the gatehouse. Also what legal recourse do we have in this event none of the officers here agree with the "discreet" audio recording by the hoa which is stored on their pc's via network so actually numerous people have access to all our conversations. When I asked about the audio recording the IT guy in charge of system didn't answer my question and danced around subject. But I looked up camera specs and was even able to access the camera software via pc in gate we are authorized to use and audio recording is enabled and actually camera specs from manufacture shows camera as being 2 way audio......Thanks in advance...!

Default Re: Video with Audio Recording Florida Workplace-Security Dept

While it may be illegal in your state for individuals to audio/video monitor each other without all parties' permission, it's perfectly legal pretty much anywhere for employers to audio/video monitor their employees while they're at work. In fact it's a very common practice - most employees (including me!) nowadays are audio/video monitored at work.