Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How to Answer a Motion to Abate Child Support

My question involves child support in the State of: FL

My ex-husband owes approximately $3,300 in arrears and was ordered to pay an extra $50 per month at a mediation session several months ago. He never has made any payments towards the arrears, and now is being laid off in approx 30 days.

I am a pro-se party, but my ex has an attorney. A couple of weeks ago his atty filed a request to modify the support payments due to his impending lay off. Then today he filed a "Motion to Abate Child Support". My ex earns approx 4x what I earn.

My question is- do I file an "answer" in response to the Motion to Abate, a "motion to dismiss", or some other type of response? Obviously I wish for the support to continue especially while he is still employed.

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide.

Default Re: Pro Se Party Needs Help with Answering Motion to Abate (Filed by Ex's Atty)

Oh boy. If he asks for that abatement, he may well get it.

You can't really file a motion to dismiss - because you haven't shown a legal reason why the matter should be dismissed. So, you'll need to file an answer. You can state your arguments against the abatement, but truly in the case of a lay-off you might be out of luck.

Is there ANY way you can get an attorney involved?
    An intelligent hell would be better than a stupid paradise - Victor Hugo

Do not microwave grapes

Default Re: Pro Se Party Needs Help with Answering Motion to Abate (Filed by Ex's Atty)

Quote Quoting Dogmatique
    View Post
    Is there ANY way you can get an attorney involved?