My question involves criminal law for the state of: Oregon
Please help, I cant get a definate answer from any web sites and I cant afford a lawyer and they all charge to answer this basic question...
I was charged and found guilty of theft 3 misdemeanor in Oregon July 2006. I have heard after 5 years, it comes off your record? And so wont come up on background checks...?
Is this true or do I have to have my record formally expunged? It will be 5 years this summer so Im wondering if I have to pay for the expungment or just wait it out...
(IF POSSIBLE, COULD YOU PLEASE PUT A LINK OR SOMETHING TO WHERE YOU FOUND THE ANSWER? I NEED TO BE 100% SURE, ITS THE HE-SAID-SHE-SAID THATS DRIVING ME CRAZY
If you'd like the back story/details on my problem....please keep reading.
The summer I turned 18 (July 2006) I made a stupid mistake and stold a box of hair dye. 8.00$ TOTAL.
I was arrested, the cop wrote me a ticket/citation and took me downtown to booking.
I was also told by the store and given a paper saying I had to pay the store 250.00$, which I did within a few days.
I was taken down to booking, where I sat for 9 hours, then released.
Once home, I looked at my ticket/citation and saw that it had no exact date. It just said July 2006. So I called the court house and said I dont know my court date. The woman took down my name and number, said she'd find out and call me back. Which she did about 3-4 days later.
Problem was, once she called me back, I had missed my court date by like 2 days.
I didnt know what to do. I was only 18 and had never dealt with this kind of stuff. So about a week or two goes by (memory is ruff on this)...I get a letter saying I recieved a violation for missing court and was fined 800.00.
I paid a little over 300 of it. I havent had the money to pay more in a long time.
I then a few days ago applied for a job and was denied because my background check came back with a THEFT 3 charge where I was found guilty.
I was shocked. Ive called the court house and it cant be fought or re-opened because over a year has passed.
Fine. So, I figured Id have my record exsponged. Its like 400.00. But, then I was told by a friend who has a felony that hers comes off her record in 7yrs.
And that misdemenors come off in 5. It will be 5 yrs in about 3 months...so should I just wait it out? Or do I need to get it expunged? I have not been in any trouble what so ever sense then, so I know I can get it expunged (I already looked into it) but why pay if its going to go away in a few months? Hence my question at the beginning...But, thank you for reading the whole back story.