My question involves an eviction in the state of: Nevada
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Nevada
Our landlord gave us a notice to vacate on 3-8. the date for us to be moved out and to turn over the keys was 3-20 at 5pm. In her notice she gives no reason for this, but during the conversation, she told us that she is shortselling the home, and even though we have allowed over 40 viewings in 3 weeks with an hours notice on each at her request, she feels that the house would sell quicker if there were no tenants. We told her that we would try to find a place before then, but requested 30 days notice. I should mention that we have no written lease agreement. We have 5 grandbabies who live with us, and finding a home large enough is quite a task, and to do so in 12 days was next to impossible.
She then filed a 3 day notice with the court two days later. Then a 5-day unlawful detainer after that. We have court tomorrow morning at 10. My question is since she gave us written notice that we had until 3-20 to move, can she turn around and file before that time is up? Also can I file a motion to stay the eviction if its granted? We have found a home, and used our savings to secure it. However, it will not be vacant until 4-8. We have 5 kids to care for, oldest being 5 years old. We have no money now for a hotel...no relatives here in NV either. Would the Judge give us til then to move?
Thank you for any assistance. Its is very appreciated.