Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Claiming Unemployment While Working

My question involves unemployment benefits for the state of: CA

Here's the deal... I started my unemployment on June 2010 and basically, I ran out of benefits by the end of Oct, early Nov. They sent me a letter saying that I'm legible for extension. I received the new claim by the 2nd last week of Nov. Now, here's the part that I'm worried about... I started my new job(part time) on Nov 30th and I've already received my first unemployment check at the time I started and cashed it out. I'm still getting claim forms until this day and getting unemployment checks and still working as a part time but getting full time hours. Is this illegal? Am I going to get introuble? Please help me out.... I don't know what to do, this is my first time doing unemployment and it's very complicated.

Default Re: Q: Claiming Unemployment While Working

Are you claiming your earnings?

No I haven't claimed any earnings ever since I started. Shouldn't they know that I'm working already though?

They know about your 4th quarter earnings, but they won't know WHEN during 4th quarter you worked until they send to, and get back, the audit form to your employer. They won't know about your first quarter 2011 earnings until they process the 1st quarter wage reports, which aren't even due until April 30.

Are you claiming your earnings from your part-time job? You are required to do so.

No I haven't claimed my earnings from my part time job. So what's the best thing to do? Should I just stop sending my claim forms?

Quote Quoting RGZ
    View Post
    No I haven't claimed my earnings from my part time job. So what's the best thing to do? Should I just stop sending my claim forms?
    It's a bit late to be asking the question. You already illegally filed claims with incorrect information. Did you miss the question where they asked "have you worked this week?" "did you have any income from working?" or some such question?