Default Arrested but Not Convicted of a Felony

Im a Lawful Permanent Resident, I was arrested but not convicted of a felony crime. I pled "No Contest" of a charge of Attempt of Theft in Second Degree (Attempt to commit an insurance fraud where the amount involved was $1.600) Judge put me in Probation for 5 years. The crime happened 1 year after I got my 10 year Green Card (Within the first 5 years of being a LPR). Probation is over.
    I left the country 6 times since my plea date and I have never had any issues until last month when I did immigration at the airport. My finger prints popped in the immigration system. The Immigration officer gave me a Hearing date where the judge is going to decide wether Im going to be deported or not. They kept my Green Card and my Passport. I called Toll Free number of USCIS and they told me Im still a LPR.

My questions are:
    1. Can I be deported for a crime where I was not convicted of???

2. Will it make any difference if I bring an immigration attorney to represent me at the Hearing?

3. If I can be deported and there s a decision of deportation, can I appeal??? (I have only one Hardship and is my wife; we don t have kids, I have paid all my court fees and fines, I pay my taxes every year and I have never been involved in any other crimes)

Thanks

Default Re: Arrested but Not Convicted of a Felony

You absolutely need an attorney! You should have consulted both criminal and immigration attorneys at the time of your original arrest.

Can I use Padilla case??? Criminal lawyer told me to plea No Content.

because it was a felony the judge will still use it against you. they did my husband eventhough charges were dimissed for no evidence. the immigration judge thinks they are the criminal judge and to immigration an alien aka illegal is guilty just because you got arrest for the crime.

Quote Quoting malindaymoises
    View Post