Hybrid View

Default Pregnant and Separated

My question involves paternity law for the State of: Texas
    Husband and I have been married 3 years. Separated in May '10 but have been "dating" and marraige counsling. I have not received any financial support form him since he left, he has his own place I have mine. We both have children from previous marraiges but none together. He is an alcoholic and in July '10 entered into an in-patient rehab treatment center. He has 6 months sobriety. I just found out I am pregnant...I have been using the same birth control for last 2 years, he knew what method I was using and what "risks" were there just as I did, no this was not a planned pregnancy. (I am happy about the baby, sad about the situation/circumstance) Upon telling him I was pregnant, he hung up on me, and did not contact me for 6 days. When he finally did, it was with a text telling me he was filing for "leagl separation" (I told him it doesn't exist in Texas). I do not want a divorce but will not contest...if he wants to leave, it's his choice. My question is about custody. I want Primary conservatorship, as I plan on breast feeding. When does visitation begin with a newborn? What can I expect? He has sole custody of his two children and his ex lost her parental rights. I have joint custody of my two with my ex. His children know nothing but negative of their mother (I have heard my husband and his family run her down...I never met her, neither have his kids but they say they hate her because of what they have been told). I don't want this to happen with our baby. But I know his family VERY well and they will run me down...they do now. Someone told me about a "TLC" clause that prevents this? Can I/should I do anything now? Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Default Re: Pregnant and Separated

Well, a divorce likely isn't going to happen until the baby is born.