Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Is It Illegal to Insult a Police Officer

Is it illegal to insult a police officer? Like if you call him a pig or an asshole?

Default Re: Is It Illegal to Insult an Officer

No, but it's not the smartest thing in the world to do, either.

In case you've not looked lately, dudes have guns. And billy clubs. And tasers.
    I'm not a lawyer, but I play a researcher on the internet!
    Caution: I bite. WARNING: Do not send questions or complaints by PM. I'm likely to post them publicly and embarrass you half to death.
    I'm training for the MS Society's Bike to the Bay - and blogging about it!

Quote Quoting LawResearcherMissy
    View Post
    No, but it's not the smartest thing in the world to do, either.

In case you've not looked lately, dudes have guns. And billy clubs. And tasers.
    And no matter how much you think tasers hurt, they hurt more. Let me put it this way, you want to have gone to the bathroom BEFORE the tasing... because you won't have to go to the bathroom after.
    All you need in this life is ignorance and confidence; then success is sure.
    - Mark Twain

Quote Quoting mark80
    View Post
    Is it illegal to insult a police officer? Like if you call him a pig or an asshole?
    While it is not illegal, it is not always wise to attract attention to yourself. If you do, make sure that you are sober, are not standing anywhere that MIGHT be seen as a violation of a state or local law, and be certain that you have no warrants for your arrest. Plus, if you do it by walking up to the officer or making it difficult for him to do his job, you can almost certainly expect to meet the officer personally as he or his friend cuffs you.

If you feel this very strong urge to cast insults at the police, perhaps you need to seek some sort of therapy.
    A Nor Cal Cop Sergeant

"Make mine a double mocha ...
    And a croissant!"

Seek justice,
    Love mercy,
    Walk humbly with your God

-- Courageous, by Casting Crowns