Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Father Demands DNA Test During Pregnancy

hello, im in a really tough situation. Me and a guy that i've meet online had a very casual relationship which in the end resulted in me getting pregnant. He strongly believes that the baby is not his, so i offered him a paternity test once the child was born, but he insist on me gettin one now and the risk in having one of these test are very high in miscarriages. I've explained eveything to him, but he still wants one done. Also, he has clearly stated that he wants nothing to do with the child, but he wants to speak to my Doctor for several reasons, which i will not allow for the fact he wants nothing to do with the baby. Now is there anything he can do legally to get my records, and he if he wants nothing to do with the baby what can i do about child support? please help

Default Re: what should i do.

Hi,

I'm not a lawyer, or someone who knows much about your situation, but I think you should lay down the rules for this man.

It is your body, and I'm almost positive that he doesn't have any rights for going to appointments or speaking with you doctor during prenatal care. I believe that when they test for paternity during pregnancy, it is through an amnio, correct? Well I know that there are risks when having an amnio done, and he doesn't have the right to make that decision for you, so stick to your guns and don't have it done.

Wait until you have the baby to have the paternity test. If he refuses to have it done after the baby is born, take him to court, and the court will probably make him get one with the baby, and then you can fight him for child support.

I'm sure that someone else on this forum could help you more, but I felt the need to put in my two cents.

Arrow Re: what should i do.