Unhappy Shoplifting / Petit Larceny

My question involves criminal law for the state of: Arizona
    Do you have any state cases or statutes related to this:

A person goes into a store. He does not want to wait in exchange line, he is battered at home and needs to get home before wife gets angry. so he puts old purchase in a cart( the cart is for donation, but he does not pay attention) and he gets the right item and walks to the front entrance. He does not leave store as he is stopped by security and is arrested for petit larceny or shoplifting( depending on how AZ looks at it) He does not actually walk out with the product and he thinks he has done an exchange even if he has not. I need to know a case law and a statute that would help in getting him off in an appeal. I am a student and am not sure where to look and am asking for advice or at least a case or statute that I could look at for a starting point. What would be the issues?

Thanks,

4everstudent

Default Re: Shoplifting/Petit Larceny

The issue is: There is a customer service counter. Depending on store, you can do an Even Exchange at the cash registers.

Your friend failed to do that. Ditched the item in a cart (if item existed), then grabbed another item and tried to leave. It's called shoplifting at this point.

If he is being battered at home...may I recommend counseling or divorce?

And that will not work for a defense - at this point, abused person is out on their own and can quickly call 911 or skip the store and go to the police....

Default Re: Shoplifting / Petit Larceny

I understand that. I have to prepare and appeal and find a loophole in the law. let us just look at shoplifting and here are the facts that I have:

This is a pretend case: