My question involves criminal law for the state of: Utah
I am a bit surprised at the sentence handed down to my son for Unlawful sexual activity with a minor.(3rd degree felony)
First let me give some details..
My son met a girl that had come into his place of employment & they exchanged phone #s. A few days
later the girl contacted my son and they began to build a friendship. The girl had told my son she just
turned 18 (my son was 20 @ the time) they had been conversing via the phone for a couple of weeks
& decided to meet for an outing.(The girls older sister came along as well)
A few weeks later the relationship started to become physical. They were at her house & one thing led
another. My son stopped in the middle of the act and explained that he wasn't sure about his
feelings for her & didn't want to hurt her and also didn't want to be hurt himself so they decided to take
take it slow & not introduce sex into the relationship @ that point. A week later my son discovered the girl
was not 18 & that she was actually 14. He immediately contacted her and told her they could no longer see
each other and could not remain in contact because of her age and that it was an inappropriate relationship.
She understood and apologized for lying about her age.
9 days later my son was contacted by an investigator who informed him he had gotten a report from the
girls school about the relationship. The girl had been talking to a friend about the relationship and the
information found its way to the schools resource officer. The girls mom was noticed & she told the investigator
she did not wish to file a report or press any charges. She stated her opinion was the incident was
a adolescent indiscretion & she had talked with my son and was confident he was sincere and honest
regarding the situation and she felt it was not worth destroying his future over. My son was 100 percent compliant with the
investigation and even agreed to a request made by the investigator to try getting the girls mom to
admit telling my son to lie about the incident adding there would be no case if both he & her daughter denied the
Incident (which she did admit & was recorded)
The state of Utah filed charges against my son and ultimately charged the girls mom with witness
tampering (3rd degree felony) My son plead guilty and was sentenced to 6 months in prison (suspended)
90 days in Co. Jail, 36 months supervised probation and ordered to comply with group A sex offender requirements.
His probation includes sex offender treatment, psycho sexual evaluation, no contact with anyone under 18,
random visits and searches of the home, residence & employment must be pre approved, weekly reporting,
No alcohol or drugs (my son does neither) submit to random drug testing & has a $5000 fine. The girl admitted
she lied and stated my son was never disrespectful and never tried to talk her into any sexual activity.
I don't see how he should be required to register as a sex offender for 10 yrs and is in the same group
classification with child predators and rapist. Is this typical sentencing considering the case details? Thank you for any and all opinions and or advice.