Default How Do I Remove Non-Criminal Police Reports from Background Checks

My question involves expungements or pardons for the state of: new york..nassau county.

I had a suicide attempt in 2003. I am a licensed teacher now and dont want this popping up in background checks. It doesnt come up in criminal checks because i didnt commit a crime, but comes up in what they call tier two background checks in which you have to list all police contacts even if they dont result in legal action against you. The police respond but no legal action is taken; no arrest and no prosecution since no law is broken. It simply gets a case# and is still there for anyone to see. The Nassau county police in NY still release this info.

People have predjudices against this type of thing and while I received my teching license, Im not getting interviews from school I apply to because of this. I consider it a medical issue and the police report should simply say that they responded for a medical call....ambulance dispatced.

How can I get police reports removed from my background checks? Does anyone know of a website with info to direct me to an attorney if I need one? Is there a proceedure that I can go through without getting an attorney?

Is there any type of waiting period for reports filed where no action is taken against me to get them removed? I find it hard to believe that anyone can make a phone call and have a police report filed and it becomes part of your record even without having commiting a crime.

Default Re: How Do I Remove Non-Criminal Police Reports from Background Checks