Default How to Challenge Radar Certification

My question involves a speeding ticket from the State of: California

This is my first time posting, so let me say start of by saying thanks for any help and sorry if I leave out any information. I am a grad student, so I'd really be grateful for any advice that involves me not having to pay a fine.

In April, I was ticketed for speeding at 93 mph in a 65 mph zone. I was cited for violating VC22349(a) in the Newport Beach area. A radar unit was used to assess the speed I was cited. A mandatory court appearance was issued. My guess was that it is because of the speed that I was clocked out, so utilizing a trial by written declaration is not a possibility any longer.

I submitted informal discovery requests to the DA, city attorney, and CHP. The CHP did respond 15 days after the initial request but only submitted a copy of the ticket. I sent in a second request and 2 weeks later, received a copy of the officer's radar certification as well as the traffic radar certification.

The radar in question is a Applied Concepts Stalker Dual SL VI radar unit that was last calibrated on September 16, 2008. It is a nondirectional radar and works only in the same direction.

The officer's certification was completed in April 2003.

Do I have any possible options regarding the calibration of the unit or the certification of the officer, or am I pretty much stuck to having to appear in court and pleading guilty if the officer shows up?

Also, if I end up having to pay the fine for the ticket, am I still eligible for traffic school? Thank you so much for any feedback.

Default Re: Ticket Help!!!

you would need to post the discovery request(s) and response documents for review .... the cop may also testify that he visually saw you speeding. Going greater than 90 MPH is going to be hard to address this possible testimony.

Go ahead and post your documents and folks will comment on them -

You absolutely do have a right to a TBWD....